Skip to content

Make a nomination for the 2017 RCVS Honours

18 August 2016

Veterinary surgeons and veterinary nurses can now make nominations for the RCVS 2017 Honours for those colleagues and individuals who they feel should be recognised for going above-and-beyond the call of duty and exceeding expectations.

Nominations can be made for three of our Honours: the Queen’s Medal, the Golden Jubilee Award and Honorary Associateship.

The Queen’s Medal was introduced in 2013 and is the highest honour that we can bestow upon a veterinary surgeon in recognition of those who have achieved a highly distinguished career and outstanding achievements. Nominations can be made by any Member of the RCVS in respect of another veterinary surgeon.

The 2016 winner of the award was Professor Randolph Richards who was honoured for his contribution to the development of aquaculture in Scotland.

The Golden Jubilee Award was introduced in 2011 to mark the 50th anniversary of the first RCVS training course for veterinary nurses and now recognises those nurses who are taking a leadership role within the profession.

The 2016 winner of the award was Louise O’Dwyer who was recognised for her pioneering role within the profession. Nominations can be made by either veterinary nurses or veterinary surgeons in respect of a veterinary nurse.

Finally, nominations can also be made for Honorary Associateship which is eligible for those who, while not veterinary surgeons or nurses, have made a significant impact in the veterinary field. Previous winners have included scientists, farmers, farriers, educationalists and journalists. This year an Honorary Associateship was awarded to Professor David Lane for his support in launching our Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Practice.

Further information about making nominations for each of these awards, including nominations forms, can be found at The deadline for nominations is Friday 16 September 2016 and all awards will be bestowed at RCVS Day 2017 in July next year.

Those with questions about making a nomination can contact Peris Dean, Executive Secretary.

Read more news