The RCVS Inspiration Award

The RCVS Inspiration Award was agreed by RCVS Council in 2017, with the first awards being bestowed at Royal College Day in July 2018.

Professor Stephen May, RCVS President, with Ebony Escalona, recipient of the RCVS Inspiration Award at RCVS Day 2018The award is bestowed upon a veterinary surgeon or veterinary nurse at any stage in of their career who has demonstrated the ability to inspire and enthuse others consistently throughout.

It is open to those who have inspired and motivated individuals anywhere within the profession and recognises those who have gone ‘above and beyond’ what may normally be expected from a professional colleague.

Nominations can be made by any MRCVS or RVN, excluding current RCVS Council and VN Council members.

Up to two RCVS Inspiration Awards may be made in any year.

The deadline for nominations for 2019 has now passed. Successful nominees for RCVS Honours & Awards will be invited to attend Royal College Day - our Annual General Meeting and awards ceremony - on Friday 12 July 2019.


Previous RCVS Inspiration Award recipients

2018: Professor Derek Knottenbelt OBE MRCVS, Emeritus Professor in Equine Internal Medicine at the University of Liverpool in recognition of his inspiring generations of veterinary students, residents and Specialists. Please take a listen to our RCVS Podcast interview with Derek talking about how members of the profession can seize the day and inspire their peers.

2018: Dr Ebony Escalona MRCVS for her work as a veterinary advisor at the Brooke equine charity and as the founding member of the Vets: Stay, Go, Diversify Facebook group which encourages veterinary surgeons to share their experiences and ideas on career progression. Please take a listen to our RCVS Podcast interview with Ebony talking about the many doors that can be opened with a 'veterinary passport'.