The Queen's Medal

The RCVS Queen’s Medal is the College’s most prestigious honour for veterinary surgeons and was launched in 2013 with the permission of Her Majesty the Queen. The award is open to MsRCVS, excluding current RCVS Council and VN Council members.  

Queen's Medal recipient, Dr Barry JohnsonThe Medal recognises a veterinary surgeon who has achieved a highly distinguished career with sustained and outstanding achievements throughout.

This honour may be conferred upon only one member of the College each year. 

Nominations can be made by any MRCVS or RVN, excluding current RCVS Council and VN Council members.

The deadline for nominations for 2019 has now passed. Successful nominees for RCVS Honours & Awards will be invited to attend Royal College Day - our Annual General Meeting and awards ceremony - on Friday 12 July 2019.  


Previous Queen's Medal recipients

2018: Professor Peter Clegg FRCVS, Head of the Institute of Ageing and Chronic Disease at the University of Liverpool, for his services to the promotion of interdisciplinary research with his engagement in veterinary, medical and biomedical research relating to musculoskeletal biology and ophthalmology as well as his service to education and academic mentoring. Please take a listen to our RCVS Podcast interview with Peter Clegg in which he talks about balancing both a clinical and an academic research career while supporting dozens of students through their degrees.

2017: Dr Barry Johnson MRCVS for his years of service to clinical practice, veterinary education and public service – including 28 years on RCVS Council and his position as High Sheriff of Lancashire from 2014 to 2015.

2016: Professor Randolph Richards MRCVS for his contribution to fish health and welfare, aquaculture, and the development of the salmon farming industry in Scotland.

2015: Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior HonFRCVS, the first veterinary surgeon to sit in the House of Lords and former President of both the RCVS and Royal Society of Medicine, for his contribution to veterinary politics and academia.

2014: Mr Desmond James Thompson HonFRCVS, a former President of the RCVS and the British Veterinary Association, for his contribution to the veterinary community in Northern Ireland and beyond.