Skip to content

What is a 'designated certificate'?

A designated certificate is a specific modular route leading to a named qualification - for example CertAVP (Equine Stud Medicine) or CertAVP (Small Animal Practice). To obtain a designated certificate, you will need to choose your modules carefully from a limited list. Most designated certificates will also require a separate final assessment (synoptic assessment) once all the modules have been passed.

Related FAQs

  • You will need to enrol with the RCVS and also with the module provider. To enrol with the RCVS please complete the form in My Account.

    Candidates will have the option to enrol for individual or multiple modules, or for the full certificate.

  • Enrolling with the RCVS means that we will keep a record of your credits, wherever you achieve them. It also enables us to keep in touch with you and let you know about any new developments, modules or courses. Please note that you cannot earn credits towards an RCVS qualification unless you are enrolled with us.

  • The maximum enrolment period is up to 10 years, subject to payment of an annual renewal fee. This time limit begins from the date that you passed your first module. You may take your synoptic exam outside this time limit.

    Modules taken at the beginning of the programme will have to be taken again if the 10 year time limit is exceeded. To gain a Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Practice, you will need to achieve 60 credits in the appropriate modular combination within a 10-year time period.

    If you wish to take more than one designation you do not need to repeat applicable modules already achieved unless they fall outside the 10 year time limit.

  • To enrol with the RCVS, you will pay an initial fee, which is renewable each year (if paid by Direct Debit). Please check our Fees page for the most up to date fees. Enrolment fees at universities will vary - please contact the university offering your module(s) for advice.

  • It is not possible to claim credit/equivalence for previously achieved qualifications.

  • It is now too late to transfer from the 'old' certificate scheme, but you may enrol on the modular certificate system as a new candidate.

  • You must hold a veterinary qualification which would entitle you to register as a member of the RCVS, and you must have at least one year's experience working as a practising veterinary surgeon before enrolling for any module and be able to provide evidence of CPD for that period. If you graduated in 2007 or later, you will be expected to have completed the PDP or VetGDP before enrolling for any modules.

  • View the list of modules.

    This is periodically updated, as new modules become available. 

  • The A-Foundations of Advanced Veterinary Practice.1 module is compulsory for all CertAVP candidates. These cover skills that the RCVS considers important for all competent veterinarians to be able to demonstrate, whatever their area of practice. The inclusion of modules covering essential key professional and clinical skills is designed to ensure that topics which are of importance to all areas of practice - including welfare and ethics, biosecurity, and evidence-based approaches to medicine - are covered by everyone achieving the qualification.

  • The qualification is the Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Practice (CertAVP).

  1. 1
  2. 2