Skip to content

Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Nursing

The Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Nursing is an advanced professional qualification awarded by the RCVS and is available only to qualified and registered veterinary nurses.

Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Nursing (CertAVN) framework

The modular style framework for the Certificate leads to awards in a variety of subject areas.  The Certificate is available to all registered veterinary nurses who qualified through either the further education or higher education route. 

The framework for the CertAVN was approved in May 2019. There are currently five accredited course providers offering CertAVN provision:

Prospective candidates should contact the universities directly for further information on the range of certificates offered and the course fees.

The following accreditation visit reports are available to download:

Access the Post Registration Framework for Veterinary Nursing handbook

Visit the RCVS Knowledge Library and Information Service (page will open in a new window) to see how to access the catalogue and electronic journals and for details of their other services and charges.

Frequently Asked Questions

Filter FAQs

Certificate in Advanced Veterinary Nursing (CertAVN)